Forum Topics 2021 Reflection
CHill
3 years ago

I took 24 days away from the market over the Christmas/New Years period which was refreshing but it feels good to be back into it! For anyone wondering it took me 4 hours to catch up on the entire Strawman feed. I spent the weekend going over my performance in 2021 and wrote down some learning's, the good, the bad and the ugly.

2021 was a rather transformative year for me. I’ve never spent more time in the markets than I did in 2021. Although I’ve been investing since 2011, I didn’t really get into it until 2016 and even then I’d say I didn’t know what I was doing until 2020.

Forced Seller - In January of 2021 I decided that I wanted to buy my first home, my previous house mates were moving out at the end of March and I was sick of moving house every 12 months (I was also sick of them breaking all my shit!). This was my first mistake of the year. I was selling down stocks from my portfolio whilst getting pre-approval for my home loan and I quickly realised that I was becoming a forced seller during the initial tech sell down of March 2021. I don’t know how many times I’ve read “don’t invest money you need in the next 1,2,5 years” but the rather quick decision to buy a house caught me a little off guard. Ultimately personal reasons got in the way of my investing life.

Selling Winners Too Early - I was an early believer in lithium stocks & had held GXY & PLS on and off since 2016. Unfortunately, I sold all my positions in Dec 2020 – Jan 2021. I left many bags on the table here. I failed to recognise just how big this thematic would be and just how much momentum plays in a stock’s performance. Once again, I find myself regretting selling my winners too early.