Forum Topics Pigs with Lipstick

I wrote this several years ago but thought the SM community would like the story. sorry it is a bit long.

Many years ago I was a senior analyst with a major institution in Sydney. Part of its extensive equity portfolio was an unlisted investment. How an unlisted investment came to be in the portfolio in the first place is another story but now I was responsible for this investment, so I closely examined its prospects.

As a shareholder in the venture we had access to the board papers and budgets. The firm was basically an ice cream factory. Examining the past papers I quickly came to the conclusion that the firm was struggling and we would be lucky to avoid writing down the investment. The accounts told the tale, continual operating issues, losses, and negative cash flow. Troubles with manufacture, distribution, market positioning. The situation looked dire. I thought we had done our dough.

The broad strategy appeared to be if the firm could string a couple of good results together it would be promptly floated on the ASX, thereby providing a profitable exit. No sooner as I had scoffed at the likelihood of this plan succeeding, the situation changed dramatically. As if by divine intervention everything in the business suddenly fell into place. Budgets were met, operations performed, distribution was near faultless. I was accordingly gob smacked.

Promptly the plan to float was quickly put into place. The firm was given to an underwriter, future earnings projections estimated which portrayed a positive future of increasing earnings over time. The firm was successfully listed and celebrations had. Again, I stood amazed as it floated at a price that shortly beforehand would have been unimaginable. The process was assisted by a strong bull market.