Forum Topics Super holdings
Chagsy
2 years ago

I have COVID.

I've been treating COVID patients for several years now, and never got it. Every single other member of my department has had it at least once. I got slacker and slacker with my PPE and hand washing and still nothing. My mask technique slipped and I remained unaffected. I began to think I had a COVID-immunity superpower which was reinforced as the months went by and I remained the sole person to not go down.

It seems I am not in possession of a super power after all.

So, I am sulking in the spare room with the dog for company and cursing my stupidity.

The worst symptoms have worn off now, I have a day or two to kill and so I have decided to procrastinate completing my tax returns until the very last moment, and instead perform a not particularly useful, but mildly entertaining review of some of my Super holdings. Hopefully these will be of some use, albeit quite a different theme to the majority of companies reviewed on Strawman.

This was prompted by the following article which highlighted how certain tech firms have crashed and burned and others are expected to do quite well over recent years. I have a tendency to choose tech related companies, so was of particular interest to me. The only holding in the Lockdown Lunacy Index I hold is Shopify, which in retrospect I should have taken profits on when it was absurdly overvalued last year. Oh well, another lesson learnt.

The tech winners and losers of the pandemic

As Zoom and friends tumble, the software that underpins daily life thrives

Sep 1st 2022