Forum Topics Xero Ltd General Discussion
ShareCat
2 weeks ago

I'm very new to learning all about the stock market and investing. (I did some accounting modules at uni over 20 years ago, but my financial accounting knowledge is very rusty.)

I originally bought Xero in my Strawman portfolio because as a user and as someone with software development experience  I really like their product.  I use Xero myself (having also tried several other pre cloud systems years ago) as do several of my clients. 

However now that I having been learning more about the financial aspects of investing, the Debt to Equity ratio seems high at 117.7.  This seems much higher than other companies I have looked at. How much importance do you place on D/E ratios when you decide to invest in one company compared to another?

Chalky1610
2 weeks ago

Goldman Sachs currently has a buy rating and $153.00 price target on its shares, they don't seem to be to concerned about the Debt to equity ratio.   However and generally speaking, higher debt-to-equity ratio indicates that a company has higher debt, while a lower debt-to-equity ratio signals fewer debts. Generally, a good debt-to-equity ratio is less than 1.0, while a risky debt-to-equity ratio is greater than 2.0.

But don't just look at debt to equity ratio alone, all metrics and all available information needs to be collectively reviewed as a package. Personally I also would have no significant issues or concerns about their debt to equity level based on an assessment of combined and collective information readily available to an investor

Bear77
2 weeks ago